Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho is one of my favorite authors. I return to his books when I feel I need inspiration and piece of mind. I read the Alchemist again the other day. It’s an amazing story about how you only get the most out of life when you live your dream, even if your life purpose is in your nearest environment,sometimes you have to go a long way to realize it.

My favorite book of his is Veronika decides to die and I read it at least once a year. It is about that if you fall in the trap of habits and are afraid to try new things and follow your dream, your life will just slide past you. It’s good to be a little crazy and don’t think about what others are the society thinks, life is too short for that. The movie adaption with Sarah Michelle Geller is actually quite good (though of course movie adaptions are never as good as the books in my opinion).

When I read these books, and Eleven minutes, the Zahir, By the River Piedra I sat down and wept, The Witch of Portebello for the first time I felt like they were speaking to me and referring to things happening in my life at that time. It’s rather amazing.

His newest book, The Winner stands alone, is a very good criticism on the “glamour” and the “perfect” look obsession in Hollywood (which the whole Western Society as also suffering from). His other books, Brida, The Devil and Miss Prym,The Aleph and The Fifth Mountain are also good, but I have only read each of them once and they didn’t have as profound effect on me as the others.

Paulo Coelho has experienced a lot in his life, his parents put him into a mental institution because of his refusal of living a “normal” life in Brazil, was arrested by the military government because of his liberal views and messed with drugs and mythical experiences. Even though he wanted to be a writer from a young age, he didn’t publish his first book, The Pilgrimage, until he was forty. The Pilgrimage is autobiographical and is about his spiritual awakenings when he walked The Road to Santiago

Coelho also supports file sharing (though he isn’t always in the position to give away his books because of his publishing deals) and has seen an increase in his books sales when they have been shared on p2p networks. Now you can buy his books on e-book format for only 0,99 USD and I promise you, they are definitely worth it!! 😉

Often when I’m feeling down I read his quotes and it always makes me feel better 🙂

Hopefully Coelho will inspire you as much as he has done for me!

“It is important to take from what we see every day
the secrets that routine otherwise prevents us from perceiving.”
Paulo Coelho

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

